Mike Portnoy Live Video Debut: “Odyssey”

We couldn’t be more excited to present this premiere of the track “Odyssey” from Flying Colors’ upcoming DVD Live In Europe, featuring the all-star lineup of Mike Portnoy on drums, Dave LaRue on bass, Neal Morse on keyboards, Casey McPherson on vocals and guitars, and Steve Morse on guitar.

“Odyssey” was originally released on the 1978 album What If by Morse and LaRue’s legendary fusion band Dixie Dregs. “I’ve been a Dregs fan since the mid-’80s and ’Odssey’ was always one of my favorites,” Portnoy told us. “I even chose it for Dream Theater to cover on the Black Clouds & Silver Linings bonus disc back in 2009. To get to play this incredible instrumental each night with Steve Morse and Dave LaRue was an honor and I hope I did it justice!”

We think you have nothing to worry about, Mike!