Drum & Cymbal Company Loyalty

Posted: August 10, 2011 09:49 AM

drumbri24

• Moderator RankRankRankRank
  • Total Posts: 110

Good morning everyone! I hope all is well w/ everyone out there. I wanted to start a topic re: the loyalty that we may (or may not)have w/ certain drum/cymbal companies.
I particularly am aiming this post @ those of us, like myself, who aren’t endorsed by anyone. Just us drummers that might have a certain allegiance to any single company. For example, I’m a DW guy @ heart-no question about it! I’ve owned 3 kits prior to my DW Collector’s Maple : My 1st kit on my 16th B-Day-a Ludwig Super Classic 4 piece in a Champegnie Sparkle wrap, a Pearl Export Pro 5 piece in black covered finish w/ black shell hdwr., & a Sonor Delite 7 piece in a Satin Oil Cherry finish. DW was always a dream to me until I graduated college in 2005 (I waited 8 years from my HS grad year of ‘93 to start college in ‘01). My parent’s College Grad gift to me was the kit of my dreams; a 9 piece DW Collector’s Maple kit (kick, 2 snares, 3 rack toms, & 3 floor toms) w/ VLT in a Sea Green Lacquer Specialty w/ Black Chrome hdwr. & if that’s not a dream come true enough, I recieved a DW 5002 Accelerator double pedal, a 5500 2-leg HiHat stand, & 9000 series hdwr. w/ it!
From the time I began my journey into drumming @ 16 to 2003, I was strictly a Zildjian man. That is, until MY ‘drum god’ (& the primary influence for me to pick up a pair of sticks in the 1st place) Neil Peart launched a Signature line (Paragon) w/ Sabian! Since then, I’ve truly fallen in love w/ Sabian for the company that it is & the cymbals that they produce. My heads have always been (& will always be) Remo, & my sticks have been Pro-Mark since day 1.