Band website, how to do it on the cheap?

Posted: March 08, 2012 09:13 AM

flybyfender

• Newbie Rank
  • Total Posts: 3

Hey guys!

First, sorry if it’s the wrong section…

I would like to know if any of you had any past experience about creating & having a band website?

I am not a programmer and I do not want to learn how to code HTML just to create that one website.

Here are the things that we want:
- Our own .com domain
- Servers included, with unlimited transfer
- Unlimited content/songs
- Music player on the website
- Fans can contact us directly on the website

It would be nice if it had Facebook & Twitter integration too.

How much should I be looking to spend for a custom website from a professional webmaster (including the requested features above)? Many people told us between 1,500$ and 3,000$ is the average pricing nowadays, is that true!!!? Do you guys have any suggestions? Is Myspace still good?

Thanks,
F.B.F

Posted: March 08, 2012 10:23 AM

David Pak

• Administrator RankRankRankRank
  • Total Posts: 165

Moved to “The Business of Drumming”

Posted: March 08, 2012 10:40 AM

David Pak

Some quick thoughts:

Your own .com domain - Do a search at a registrar and purchased the domain yourself. The reason for doing this is so that you have direct ownership of the domain vs. any potential he said she said on ownership if you have someone else purchase it for you. Some options

Servers - If you’re starting out you’ll probably be okay with what is called a shared server [vs a dedicated or virtual server]. Basically this means you share space with other websites. Sort of like an apartment vs buying/renting a house.

Unlimited transfer - read the fine print. Some services will throttle your site if there is a large amount of traffic for either your site or your “neighbors” site.

Posted: March 08, 2012 02:38 PM

flybyfender

• Newbie Rank

Sorry about the wrong section…

Thanks David for the reply.