Favorite Stick Grips

Posted: August 07, 2010 12:30 PM

Andy Doerschuk_1

• Sr. Member RankRankRankRank
  • Total Posts: 312

I just proofread an article that will appear in the October issue of DRUM! about the various types of stick grips drummers use. I’ve never thought much about it, mostly because I started off self-taught as a kid and none of my teachers made me change, but the article reminded me that I use American grip, which is a combination of French and German. It’s the one that seems to come most naturally to novices when they first pick up a pair of sticks, but some of the others offer advantages that aren’t necessarily found in American grip. I’ve always been fascinated by Moeller and traditional grips, but wasn’t sure I could get a stroke that was powerful enough for the rock-oriented styles I play. I’m sure Stewart Copeland would differ.

Which grip do you use, why do you use it, and did you change to your current style of grip after you had played drums for a while? Just wondering.

Signature 

Andy Doerschuk
Editorial director, drummagazine.com

Posted: August 07, 2010 10:44 PM

Rev.D.

• Total Posts: 190

I Grew up using German grip (it was taught in school), and it was used in my high school drum line as well. I also use French and American grip( and sometimes traditional) as needed when I perform, depending on the groove, feel, volume and speed that a song may require.

Signature 

A good drummer will sound good on anything. A Bad drummer will sound bad on anything.

Posted: August 08, 2010 02:20 PM

guarilio989

• Total Posts: 171