Guitar players/band leaders

Posted: August 27, 2010 01:27 PM

gbond

• Jr. Member RankRank
  • Total Posts: 32

I recently played a BIG gig- first set goes over great and I soloed out with Moby Dick (my rendition…) Things are going well as we take the stage again…. and the lead guitar player/band leader forgets the intro to first song. As we stumble along second set he forgets lead parts and words… I’m trying to keep the bass player and keyboardist on track and he turns around and glares at me as if I did something wrong. Anybody else have this happen? Then later he says I’m rushing… I’ve been playing for almost 40 years and I THINK my timing is pretty good…. Needless to say I’ve been practicing with my metronome….a lot. Should I just let it go and not say anything? The gig was videoed and the mistakes are obvious as to WHO is off… I want to keep in good graces with these guys but am musically frustrated. He is a friend and I think must have had a health issue that night ( I still I have another band and we seem to mesh very well…) Thanks for any comments guys!

Posted: August 29, 2010 10:23 AM

guarilio989

• Sr. Member RankRankRankRank
  • Total Posts: 171

This kinda reminds me of a problem Andy’s wrote about a few DRUM! issues back involving another guitar player with bad time. I don’t remember what issue it was but someone sent in a message saying to just make a joke out of it and tell them ya it was sorta their fault but don’t come outright and say it. 9/10 times that ends bad. If you get DRUM! just back log a little bit and find the two issues. the first one has Andy’s problem in the editors thoughts section(I forget the name lol) and then either the following issue or the one after that has a readers response to Andy’s problem. I don’t remember which ones they were. maybe that will help

Signature 

Hit Hard, Play Fast, Have Fun

Posted: December 22, 2010 10:38 PM

stylerprofyler

• Newbie Rank
  • Total Posts: 8