2 of 4

Your Favorite stick

Posted: September 10, 2010 09:34 AM

Warren Wright

• Jr. Member RankRank
  • Total Posts: 31

I have played the Pro-Mark Oak sticks for years and for the past 3 or 4 years, I centered my choice to the Pro-Mark 727 Wood Tip Oaks.

They are roughly the weight of an 8A stick but are longer and for anyone who has played Hickory sticks knows,  power rim shots will destroy a stick very quickly but with the Oak sticks, one pair of Oak sticks will outlast 4 to 6 pair of Hickory sticks hands down. 
I play at least 10 gigs a month, every month, and one pair will easily last anywhere between 1 and 2 months before the power rim shots have put enough dents in the stick to make it rough to hold.  Ive only broken 3 sticks since I started playing them. 
They are a bit heavier in weight than the hickory but hey, you get more volume than with Hickory and you get a lot more use as well.

Signature 

I am a Drummer…its not only what I do…its also an integral part of who I am

Posted: September 18, 2010 09:08 PM

NickMason

• Jr. Member RankRank
  • Total Posts: 36
Rev.D. - 08 September 2010 09:10 AM

I used to use Ahead sticks exclusively. I had 9 pair of the Tommy Lee model.  The plastic sleeves would wear down rather quickly and the aluminum underneath would make contact with my cymbals and crack them. I eventually went back to wood sticks because replacing wood sticks is a lot cheaper than replacing Ziljian K crashes. But than again, back then I did used to beat my drums like they owed me money.

If you change the covers before the sleeves wear to the point of showing the aluminum you would never have any problems with cracking cymbals…

I use Ahead sticks, and I can tell you this, I break a lot less cymbals then when I used wood sticks. The Plastic sleeve is softer than wood and will do less damage to your gear, but you have to keep up on changing the covers.

I currently use the Ahead Maxum Model. (16.5” x .595”)