Jack De Johnette Honored By NEA Jazz Masters Award

Jack De Johnette Honored By NEA Jazz Masters Award

Jack De Johnette

The National Endowment For The Arts has chosen legendary jazz drummer Jack De Johnette as one of five recipients of the 2012 NEA Jazz Masters Award.

DeJohnette has performed with some of the greatest talents in jazz history, including John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Ornette Coleman, Sonny Rollins, Sun Ra, Jackie McLean, Thelonious Monk, Bill Evans, Stan Getz, Keith Jarrett, Chet Baker, George Benson, Stanley Turrentine, Ron Carter, Lee Morgan, Charles Lloyd, Herbie Hancock, Dave Holland, Joe Henderson, Freddie Hubbard, Abbey Lincoln, Betty Carter, and Eddie Harris.

The other four 2012 Jazz Masters Award recipients are bassist Charlie Hayden, saxophonist Von Freeman, vocalist Sheila Jordan, and trumpeter Jimmy Owens. Each will receive a cash prize of $25,000, and will be honored at a ceremony in January at Jazz At Lincoln Center’s Frederic P. Rose Hall in New York City. It will be the 30th anniversary of the NEA Jazz Masters Award, and sadly will also mark the final presentation, since the program has been terminated due to budget restraints.

Get the How To Tune Drums Minibook when you subscribe to our newsletter