Join The Hunger Beat Down Saturday

The Global Drummers Alliance For Hunger Relief invites drummers to join them in raising awareness of the worldwide epidemic of hunger and malnutrition. On January 14, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. CST (3:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 p.m. PST), join in the “hunger beat-down.”

Drummers around the world will simultaneously play the same drum solo to raise awareness about world hunger and to encourage citizens to help feed the starving children of the world. We will all play the classic snare drum solo “Three Camps,” which replicates the kind of drumming used by army camps during the Civil War to communicate with each other. 


The idea to drum-up awareness of world hunger came from Marv Dahlgren, a nationally-known percussionist.

 “I believe those of us who live in the richest nation on earth owe it to the starving children of the world to help them survive the ravages of famine.” Dahlgren says. “I want to keep beating the drum to make sure we don't forget about millions of children who are losing their lives every day to starvation.”



You can download a free copy of "Three Camps" by going here.

More News